Two Steering Committee members of The Rouse Project (Ken Ulman and Sabina Taj) will join Scott E’s Blog on Saturday, February 20th at 4:00pm.

My hope is to learn more about this entity and share that information with the community. The community has a number of questions about this entity and I look forward to asking some of those questions.

A little background about the members scheduled to join Scott E’s Blog on Saturday for this discussion:

  • Ken Ulman served as County Executive for Howard County from 2006 to 2014. He also represented the 4th district as a County Council member from 2002 to 2006.
  • Sabina Taj was an at-large member of the Howard County Public Schools Board of Education in Maryland. Taj assumed office in 2019. Taj left office on December 7, 2020. Taj ran for election for an at-large seat of the Howard County Public Schools Board of Education in Maryland. Taj won in the general election on November 6, 2018

Here is a little about the entity (from their description on Twitter):


Columbia residents, businesses, institutions and advocacy groups working together for a more vibrant, inclusive and empowered future.

Here is additional information from their website:

The Rouse vision of thriving, multicultural neighborhoods is fading without a convening structure in place that reflects and prioritizes the distinct needs, ambitions and values of Columbia residents and businesses today. As a result, our communities are growing less diverse and more divided, our amenities aren’t meeting our needs and our villages are failing.

The time has come for a return to the vision and ideals that built Columbia, for more accountable systems that shepherd our resources effectively and new leadership that reflects the diversity and values of our residents and businesses.

The significant investments we make in our shared quality of life through annual assessment fees paid to the Columbia Association should be invested in ways that reflect our values, strengthen our communities and serve the greater good. We believe a new approach is necessary to protect our investments, effectively promote our collective success and empower vibrant, diverse and economically robust villages across our City of Hope.

Steering Committee Members of The Rouse Project include:

  • Victor Broccolino
  • Brad Canfield
  • George Carroll
  • Regina Clay
  • Larry Cohen
  • Vince Cullotta
  • Rev. Paige Getty
  • Dr. C. Vernon Gray
  • Jamison Hibbard
  • Sherman Howell
  • Allan Kittleman
  • Jessica Mahajan
  • David Nitkin
  • Jean Parker
  • Wendy Slaughter
  • Sabina Taj
  • Frank Turner
  • Ken Ulman

If you need a reminder (like I do) here is the event on Facebook:

You will be able to watch this event live on Facebook via Scott E’s Blog Facebook channel on Saturday afternoon:

Have questions you think I should ask during this discussion (please make these informative questions and not attacking questions) feel free to send those to

Scott E