Announced just a little while ago by the NCAA (image above): The link in the tweet provides this information:

Statement from the NCAA COVID-19 Advisory Panel on NCAA events

The NCAA COVID-19 Advisory Panel recognizes the fluidity of COVID-19 and its impact on hosting events in a public space.  COVID-19 is spreading rapidly in the United States, and behavioral risk mitigation strategies are the best option for slowing the spread of this disease.  This is especially important because mildly symptomatic individuals can transmit COVID-19.  Given these considerations, coupled with a more unfavorable outcome of COVID-19 in older adults – especially those with underlying chronic medical conditions – we recommend against sporting events open to the public.  We do believe sport events can take place with only essential personnel and limited family attendance, and this protects our players, employees, and fans.

###

So no fans at the NCAA Basketball Tournament games in 2020. That will be interesting.

Upcoming important dates for the mens tournament:

  • Selection Sunday —March 15, 2020. You can watch at 6 p.m. ET on March Madness Live and CBS.
  • First Four — Tuesday and Wednesday, March 17-18, 2020
  • NCAA Tournament Round 1 — Thursday, March 19, and Friday, March 20, 2020
  • NCAA Tournament Round 2 — Saturday, March 21, and Sunday, March 22, 2020
  • Sweet 16 — Thursday, March 26, and Friday, March 27, 2020
  • Elite 8 — Saturday, March 28, and Sunday, March 29, 2020
  • Final Four — Saturday, April 4, 2020
  • 2020 NCAA championship game — Monday, April 6, 2020

Here is information about the women’s schedule:  https://www.ncaa.com/news/basketball-women/article/2020-03-04/2020-ncaa-womens-basketball-tournament-selection-show-date

Scott E

1 COMMENT

Comments are closed.