Today is the filing deadline to enter the race for the special primary for Maryland’s 7th Congressional District. Here is a listing of candidates that have filed so far:

Republican: (8 candidates)

  • Anderson, Christopher M.
  • Arnold, James C.
  • Bly, Ray
  • Brown, Brian L.
  • Hawkins, Reba A.
  • Klacik, Kimberly
  • Matory, Liz
  • Newton, William

Democrat: (19 candidates)

  • Baker, T. Dan
  • Branch, Talmadge
  • Brown, Alicia D.
  • Carter, Anthony Sr.
  • Carter, Jill P.
  • Chullin, Matko Lee III
  • Cummings, Maya Rockeymoore
  • Davidson, Jermyn
  • Gonzalez, Darryl
  • Gosnell, Mark Steven
  • Grant, Leslie E.
  • Higginbotham, F Michael
  • Hill, Terri
  • Konka, Paul V.
  • Mfume, Kweisi
  • Rabb, Saafir A.
  • Smith, Charles U.
  • Spikes, Harry
  • Stokes, Charles

There are still quite a few big names out there that could decide to get into the race today. So keep a close eye on the hashtag #MD07 on Twitter.

I will publish a full listing of candidates tomorrow morning.

Some important dates to remember:

  • Certificates of candidacy may be filed beginning on October 30, 2019.
  • The deadline for nomination papers to be filed is November 20, 2019, and the deadline for candidate withdrawal is November 22, 2019.
  • The special primary election will occur on February 4, 2020, 76 days from the filing deadline.
  • The special general election will occur on April 28, 2020—the same date as the state’s spring primary.

Scott E