There are a number of events happening around the county today for the swearing in ceremonies for local officials taking office in Howard County. Here are the ones that I know about:

Howard County Executive and Howard County Council (more)

The public is invited to attend the Installation Ceremony of Howard County Government’s 10th County Executive, Dr. Calvin Ball, and the newest members of the Howard County Council:

  • Liz Walsh (District 1)
  • Opel Jones (District 2)
  • Christiana Mercer Rigby (District 3)
  • Deb Jung (District 4)
  • David Yungmann (District 5).

The ceremony will take place on Monday, December 3 at 7:00 p.m. in the auditorium at Howard High School, 8700 Old Annapolis Road in Ellicott City and will be immediately followed by a reception in the school cafeteria.

For those unable to join us that evening, the ceremony will be streamed live here on this page.
Click here for a map of parking at Howard High School.

Howard County Courthouse (Clerk of Court, Register of Wills, Sheriff and Judges of the Orphans’ Court) (more)


The swearing-in ceremony for Clerk of Court Wayne Robey, Register of Wills Byron Macfarlane, Sheriff-Elect Marcus Harris, and the judges of the orphans’ court will take place on Monday, December 3, 2018, at 2:00pm in Courtroom 1 of the Circuit Court. The Administrative Judge of the Circuit Court, Judge William Tucker, will administer the oath of office to the Clerk, who will then swear in the other officials. The address is 8360 Court Avenue, Ellicott City, MD.

Parking is limited and you will have to go through security, so if you plan to join us please come early.

Howard County Board of Education (more)

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF HOWARD COUNTY | 10910 Clarksville Pike | Ellicott City, MD 21042 December 3, 2018



A. ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OF OFFICE TO NEW BOARD MEMBERS – Jen Mallo, Sabina Taj, Chao Wu and Vicky Cutroneo


The one apparently not happening today is Howard County State’s Attorney swearing in ceremony for Rich Gibson. That one is apparently schedule for January 7th at 8:00am at the Howard County Courthouse (8360 Court Ave, Ellicott City MD 21043, Courtroom 1).

I did not have a chance to reach out to Rich Gibson before I published the article to find out why this office is later than others locally…maybe a follow up article with that information later.

Post update: Rich Gibson sent me the following message after the article was posted:

“All State’s Attorneys in Maryland are statutorily mandated to take office on the 1st Monday of the new year. The only exception to this is in Prince George’s County this year because Angela Alsobrooks is being sworn in as County Executive today so Aisha Braveboy has to be sworn in today as interim because the Maryland Constitution mandates that no region can be without it’s top prosecutor. Hope that answers the question about why I am being sworn in later than everyone else…it is because the law requires it.”

Big THANKS to Rich for being a reader and providing me this information for this post.

Scott E