On April 10th, The Ellicott City & Western Howard Democratic Club met and voted on endorsements for various races. Here is a listing of candidates that received enough votes to earn the club endorsement:



Ben Cardin


District 2

Dutch Ruppersberger

District 3

John Sarbanes

District 7             

Elijah Cummings



Peter Franchot

Attorney General

Brian Frosh

MD District 9 Senate

Katie Hester

MD District 9A Delegate

Steven Bolen

Natalie Ziegler

MD District 9B Delegate

Courtney Watson

Howard County

County Executive

Calvin Ball

County District 1

Jon Weinstein

Council District 2

Opel Jones

Council District 5

China Williams

State’s Attorney

Rich Gibson

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Wayne Robey

Register of Wills

Byron Macfarlane

Judge of the Orphans’ Court

Anne Dodd

Nicole Bormel Miller


Marcus Harris

I was invited to the meeting to help count votes. I worked with Abby Hendrix on counting votes in the Governor race. No candidate won that endorsement (no one got enough votes to get 50% of the club support…with seven candidates…that is no big surprise). I will say that the candidates that received the most votes on the three ballots were: Krish Vignarajah, Rich Madaleno and Kevin Kamenetz….with Krish coming in first on all ballots…just not getting enough votes for the club endorsement.
I don’t know if the vote counts will be published at some point in the future…if they are…I will be sure to update this post with those numbers.
Update: Here are the vote counts for Governor:

Rushern Baker/ Elizabeth Embry 7
Ralph Jaffe/Freda Jaffe 0
Ben Jealous/Susan Turnbull 16
James Jones/Charles Waters 0
Kevin Kamenetz/ Valerie Ervin 25
Rich Madaleno/Luwanda Jenkins 38
Alec Ross/ Julie Verratti 10
Jim Shea/Brandon Scott 4
Krish Vignarajah/ Sharon Blake 49

Scott E


Comments are closed.